top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbby Brown

Author Merri Halma

Originally Posted in August 2016


I have followed Merri Halma on Facebook for about a year now. She is a good friend, and a good writer of middle grade, early YA novels.


Merri Halma's Bio


I was raised in Sunnyside, Washington the youngest of three girls. I always had an active imagination. As we drove across country in the summer, I would see the Indians on horseback on the mountain ranges. Sometimes I would even see them riding down towards the open range. My parents and sisters would laugh. But to me, I really saw the Indians. They were real


I had a severe speech impediment, so as I approached my teen years, I had few friends. I felt alone, lonely and like no one really understood me. Writing became my outlet for sanity. I wrote in journal, started writing my first novel at 12 or 13 and also wrote poetry.


I went to college after high school, denying myself what I most wanted to do. I wanted to study writing and drama. My mom had assured me if I went into writing, I would lose my mind, because all writers go crazy. I was afraid of losing my mind.


I am real, Because I felt pain deeply, I knew I was real. I had to stay in touch with me. I had to feel the deep hurt I did, otherwise I would be denying myself. It was difficult for me to get into a character because I was afraid of losing my mind. Also, most drama professors wouldn’t accept me for speaking roles because of my speech impediment.


I ended up with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with an emphasis in Social Services and the Humanities. Later, a Master’s of Science in Counseling-Psychology.


All my life I have sought God or some reason why no matter what field I endeavored to go into, the door was slammed in my face.


My search for God and reasons why my life sucks eggs so much lead me to want create characters who also search for why their life is the way it is. Writing called me so strongly, I couldn’t ignore it. My mom wasn’t too happy about it. At 56, I still have my sanity. I live what I want to. I just would love to find readers who really can identify with my characters.


Links to books and blog

Spiritual Muses




Indigo Traveler - Paperback

Indigo Traveler - Ebook




Keys to the Shadowland - Paperback

Keys to the Shadowland - Ebook

Recent Posts

See All

Marian Allen Author of Sage

Allen has had stories in on-line and print publications, including multiple appearances in Marion Zimmer Bradley’s SWORD AND SORCERESS antho

Tony Noland – Verbosity’s Vengeance

Tony Noland is a long time writer friend whose writing encourages me to long for a simpler time.  The super hero, Alex Graham, harkens back

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page