top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbby Brown

Allergy Free Cooking

Writing a cookbook was never intended. In fact, I once thought I would never learn to cook for myself. I was nineteen before I poured my first drink (a soda), and nearly twenty before I touched my first pan. I am thankful for those who took the time to teach a young woman the art and science of cooking. Cooking was one of the last things I learned how to do well in my life.


I almost lost those skills once. I quit cooking when I worked away from home for over twelve hours a day. Like many skills, if you don't use them, you lose them.

Then, when diagnosed as celiac and lactose intolerant, my cooking world turned upside down. What could I do now? I was known for cakes, pies, biscuits, and gravy, from scratch!


For years, I cooked without grain. Then, I found non-gluten grains I could tolerate. Cookies, pizzas, pies, cake mixes, and more. Some were great and fluffy (hard to imagine as gluten free). Others, not so much. I will refer to specific brands in the grain section of this cookbook so you can more easily duplicate recipes.

If you are curious about what gluten, lactose, and fructose are, there is a section in the resources with a few links.


There are many types of vegetarianism. Some eat eggs, others don't. Dairy may, or may not, be consumed. Some consider fish or poultry okay, while others don't. In this cookbook, there is a place for the vegetarian of every variety to note what to avoid in a dish, and a place to add a substitute for each changed ingredient. This space is useful if the cook, or food recipient, has other reasons, including allergies to ingredients, for avoiding meat, and meat-like products.


I hope I never lose my ability to cook and enjoy food. I have a new challenge. Low vision and hearing. Along with a fear of cutting my fingers off when slicing vegetables, fruits, or meat.





Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page