top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbby Brown

Inspirational Authors - Madeleine L'Engle

Published - August 17, 2016


1918 - 2007


Madeleine L'Engle wrote several small series of interrelated books, the most well known of which include A Wrinkle in Time and A Wind in the Door. Her novels touch on science, history, sociology, growing up, and magic. They are perfect for teens, and adults trying to re-find the magic that is forgotten in the rush and flurry of life during adulthood.


As much as I enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time in my 20's and 30's, it came to mean something special to me in my 40's. By 40, I was learning to read braille. I had no choice. Which was fine. A Wrinkle in Time, that tiny novel for teens and pre-teens was the first full length book I read in braille. Except, in braille, it is in three volumes. What in print would have been a day's read took almost two months in braille. An accomplishment for me. And a closer understanding of the science, math, and everything else she includes in her novels.


I am not sure how Madeleine L'Engle affects my writing. Much as her writing shares bits and pieces of history, science, and deep thoughts, many of my characters do the same. They journey along trails that cannot be seen ahead of time, to places they could never imagine. They take what they have, and make a future together. Her themes are as deeply woven into the fabric of her stories, as mine are into my novels.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page